A Literary Journey

Last night I had the bright idea to start writing book reviews. Let me just say that I am in no way a literary boffin. I just read a lot of books, and want to share my thoughts. If you want a normal pleb’s point of view, this is for you…

Driven to Distraction – Jeremy Clarkson

Penguin Books – ISBN 978-0-718-15573-5

As many of you now, Jeremy Clarkson is a bit of a petrolhead. He’s one of the presenters on TopGear, a motoring show on BBC. He is also a columnist for the Sunday Times. So of course this book would be about cars. But to say that the book is solely about cars, would be an enormous error. As with TopGear, it is about cars, but about many other things as well. You don’t have to be a can fanatic to read this book and enjoy it. He covers a variety of cars that he tests, but he does so in a very humourous way. He has a typical british sense of humour, dry and sarcastic, but he really is quite brilliant.

The book is an easy read, with many laugh-out-loud moments. He seems to sum up the week in politics and celebrity, family and friends, and tying it all together in the end with a comparison to the car he had driven that week. One of my favourite parts is where he argues that you will never see a woman driving a Lexus, because it is “perfectly revolting” and “for people who play golf”. Now the specific car that he is talking about is the Lexus IS 250 SE. This is where I laugh in the face of the mighty Jeremy Clarkson. I am a woman. I love that car. If I had the money, I would buy that car. That car, those lines, that ass, is very high up on my car wishlist. If I’m honest though, if I ever had the chance of meeting Mr. Clarkson, and tell him how off base he is with that argument, he would probably be able to convince me that I’m wrong. And I’d probably be giggling uncontrollably while he’s proving me wrong.

Back to the book though, he talks about the BMW M3 CS, which, if you know Jeremy, you’d think he’d hate. But alas, we readers are thrown a massive curveball. He liked it. He compared it to the Audi RS4. He conceded that if you’d bought either one, you’d be a winner. He honestly talks about the Koenigsegg CCX and how it will make you howl. He also drives the Renault Clio, Mazda MX-5, Maserati Quattroporte, Lamborghini Gallardo Spyder and high praises for the Suzuki Swift Sport even though it’s not British.

Let’s be honest though. I didn’t read the book for the cars. I read it for the absolutely brilliant humour, self-righteousness and opinionated writing of Jeremy Clarkson. Even if you don’t like cars, you’ll love it. And if you don’t like books, well, you’ll love the cars. It’s an easy read, good before bed to switch your brain off.

 

Much Love 

2 thoughts on “A Literary Journey

  1. YAY, my baby is a petrolhead. ek was nog nooit so trots nie ! ! !

    Jeremy Clarkson ROCKS and i cant wait for his new book.

    can’t wait for our adventure.

    love you

Leave a Reply

