Bah Humbug

Hi there. As you can see, my previous blog has been updated. I got a very angry comment from a very angry person saying that I was violating their copyright and trademark and what have you because I used the words Fashion and Liberation together. You can see the comments on the previous post.

So, not to get myself in trouble, I changed it. But seriously, it’s actually laughable. You would think that this person, after reading the entire blog entry, would know that it had, and still hasn’t, have anything at all to do with whatever it is that they have the copyright on.

I really do think people should stop taking themselves so seriously.

And now for my future posts, a disclaimer: ANYTHING I WRITE ON THIS BLOG IS MY THOUGHTS AND OPINIONS. IT HAS NOTHING WHATSOEVER TO DO WITH ANYTHING ELSE, EXCEPT IF IT IS EXPRESSLY STATED OTHERWISE.

So, boo on you. No need to get your knickers in a twist. it’s clear I wasn’t trying to steal publicity from you. It’s clear I didn’t maliciously seek you out. I really don’t spend my days, searching for possible copyright infringements.

4 thoughts on “Bah Humbug

  1. I just found her stuff on Etsy. Seems she presents herself as a conjurer of ‘magick’. I bet she conjures a whole lot of bad karma with that ‘magick’ attitude…

    • You know, I spent the rest of my weekend worrying about whether I was being too self-righteous or rude or harsh. But thanks for the comments, I do know now that I handled myself in the appropriate manner. 🙂

  2. Thank so much for recreating your post. I appreciate it greatly. My problem was never that you were intending to or in fact “stealing” publicity from me. There is a legal copyright protection called a “service mark” that protects ideas and phrases that refer to protected concepts. I am simply a small business trying to grow a sustainable enterprise.

    Ever since I went public with the name of my business and ideas, individuals have been using those concepts. It has been of great frustration to me. Nevertheless, I do appreciate with your complying with my request.

    • The thing is: I didn’t know about you when I wrote my post. It was my own idea to put Fashion and Liberation together, and if you actually tried to understand what the post was really about, you’d realise that it doesn’t have the same meaning anymore now that it is changed. People will often have similar ideas, but just because you thought of it a while ago, doesn’t mean that when I thought about it, it was unoriginal or trying to “steal” your idea.

      People aren’t out to get you. If you use common words like Fashion and Liberation, there are bound to be people who will put them together as well. Maybe, if you’d actually coined a unique word that YOU made up, then I’d be on your side.

      But I’m not. Because your “request” wasn’t so much a request than an Order. The way in which you approached me and this subject was completely inappropriate, absurd and over the top. Granted, it offered my blog some controversy, but still. If that is how you approach people, then I wouldn’t be inclined to do business with you.

      By the way, how DID you land on my post? And if your Google Fashion and Liberation together, you’d find plenty of other blogs with these phrases in them. Do you hound them as well?

      You could have used this post to benefit you. Instead, you chose to attack a random blogger, and it just makes you look foolish.

Leave a Reply

