What have we become?

I am ashamed (to say the least) to look at us, as a society, and see how we treat other human beings. I know my tirade on tolerance is becoming a little old, but this morning, I was just devastated to see this…

I am an avid follower on PerezHilton.com and I know what you’re thinking. It’s mostly filled with celebrity news that really have no meaning in my life, but it keeps me busy, and somehow (I don’t know why) it makes me feel good to be on top of celebrity gossip, to be the first among my friends to know these things. It’s silly, but I love it. But sometimes, a message comes through on the site. This celebrity blogger is also a human being, a champion for minorities (him being a Latino and all) but also for equal rights for all people, gay or straight. So often, I find good causes on his site and so on. But also, he often reports on the very cruel treatment many young people suspected of homosexuality are getting in the US. One case that springs to mind, is a young girl (Constance McMillen)  who was banned from her own prom, because she wanted to bring a female date. That’s just absurd.

But what I saw this morning shocked me. I am saddened by the lack of tolerance, acceptance and humanity displayed by society. Please read this article: http://bit.ly/9EvoNc  It’s short, and will not take up too much of your time.

If this doesn’t enrage you, I am frightened to think what else must happen before we make some changes. As always, I encourage you to support The Trevor Project, on the left-hand side of my blog is an easy way to start. They are doing very important work. Please help.

Much Love ♥ (for everybody)

Leave a Reply

