India Travels

Hi!

I haven’t blogged in ages, and I feel pretty guilty about it…So, thanks to it being a slow day at work, and me being a little hungover (which is making me not want to work), I have decided to blog.

So here’s what’s new: I got promoted! Yay! And then I got demoted…Yeah, I know. I was like, “Seriously?”. But forget that part, because I’m done bitching about a job that doesn’t stimulate me anyway. But here comes the good stuff: The man and I just celebrated our four year anniversary! Last year this time, I was blogging from Amsterdam. This year, it was less extravagant, but very cute. He whisked me away to a little beach town over the weekend, plus, he kept it a secret. That, in itself, is a freaking miracle. He cannot keep a secret. So it was incredibly sweet, and very romantic.

Also, I travelled to India in June. Yes, India. And let me tell you, it was amazing. I had gone to donate some eggs. I know that it seems weird, and far-out, but I value that experience, and it has made me a better person. We stayed in New Delhi, (in a hotel, mind you!) I ate a lot of curry, we went to see the Taj Mahal, I bought a ton of stuff, I ate some more curry, we smoked a hookah pipe, I had cake on my birthday…It was all in all a wonderful trip, an enriching experience, and I will definitively do it again! I met wonderful women, who in their small way, are making a positive impact in this world.

The Donor support, Julie, is one of the best people I have ever met. Genuinely. She is kind, and compassionate, caring. She is funny, and generous, with a warm heart and a giving soul. I envy her for the job she has, and the life she’s living, the legacy she’s leaving. She gets to travel to India four times a year, and she is facilitating the joy of children to dozens of people. She meets new people all the time, and although she’s away from her family for long periods, and she’s often away from her own little boy, I don’t think she would change a thing.

The girls who also went, were amazing. We had Hanna, a Finnish woman with a Master’s degree in Political Science and International¬†Relations, who used to work as an ambassador, and even attended many a UN meeting. Seriously impressive. Then there was Ansunette, a woman from South Africa as well, (she lives not too far from me, actually) who is a wine maker. How cool is that?! Ansunette and I shared our travel discomfort, and we had a beer in Dubai International Airport at 3am, dead tired, dirty, and just looking for a place to satisfy our nicotine addiction! And finally, there was Tara, this amazing bubble of positive energy, with a shock of red hair, and beautiful tattoos… She has such an easy laugh, and her giggle is infectious. She is from Canada, and what they say about Canadians really is true: They are so friendly. They are a warm and kind people.

This experience has changed me. I can’t really tell you in what way, because I don’t know. I’m not different from how I used to be. It’s just something small in me, that feels different. I want more from life. I can do more, I have plenty to offer. I don’t want to look back at my life when I’m 65, and be filled with regret.

Anyway…Here are some photo’s from lovely India. I hope I can go again soon.

Leave a Reply

