Day 3 of 7: Beauty is Pain

Day 3 of my detox was hell. Hell, I tell ya! I can not recall ever being so hungry before in my life. Day 3 entails all the fruit and veg you care to consume, although no bananas, and no potatoes.

I took an apple to work for lunch, along with my usual 1.5 liter bottle of water. I thought I’d be fine, since I normally don’t even eat during the day. By 11am I was ravenous. By noon, I think I might have lost my mind a little. I recall talking to myself a little, blabbering on and on about Vampire Diaries, Grey’s Anatomy and Justin Bieber (don’t ask, I have no idea where the last topic came from). I finally caved and ate the damn apple, trying to savor every bite, yet working through that apple quicker than I can switch the channel from sport to Food Network. I drank my water halfway, and then realised that I would have to use it to keep the hunger monsters quiet when they came later in the day. And sure enough, they did. They came back. With a vengeance. By 4pm my water was finished, and I was tired, and giggly, and sort of dizzy. Luckily, the man came by at 4:30pm, and I sent him to get me some more water.

I was not looking forward to dinner. I planned on having salad again. But it was cold. And truth be told, it took every ounce of determination I had not to stop at McDonalds on the way home. But, I held strong. And then I figured out that I could still have a hot meal, to comfort my cold limbs, without having to sacrifice my detox. I would make stir-fry. I heated a large pan and stir-fried the veggies until they were just right, with no oil or sauce, and dished out half for me. I quickly added sauce and some cooked chicken left over from the previous night, boiled some noodles, and Voila, food was done. I dished the stir-fry with the chicken, and sauce (how I miss sauce) and noodles for the man, and quickly reheated my veggies. I just added some black pepper to mine, and dinner was served.

It was okay. Not the best. Not the most flavorsome. But it was warm, and healthy, and my belly was full for the first time in two days. To be fair, I was hungry again later, but I just guzzled down more water. And then some more.

This morning as soon as I woke up, I jumped onto my scale. I am elated to report that I have lost 3kg. (I should note: I didn’t weigh myself on Monday before starting, so I don’t know if I’ve lost more than that. I’m working from Tuesday’s weight.)

On the menu today: Bananas and Milk. That’s it. Up to 8 bananas, and up to 3 glasses of milk.

I now know that if I do this detox again, I really should (and will) make the soup. I think it will fill the gaps between meals. A.K.A Hunger monster time. Also, I’m sure it will help this fatigued feeling. I am quite drained, and don’t have much energy. If you’re thinking about doing this, make the soup, okay?

Much Love

2 thoughts on “Day 3 of 7: Beauty is Pain

  1. This diet sounds intense! Oh how I hated those hunger pangs!

    I remember back to my weightloss days, it was actually the middle of the process (just after I lost the innitial weight and then plato’d for a month and a half) before I really saw results and felt satisfied. Being a cynic I needed to see REAL results that I could wear the tee I wanted.

    At that time I remember feeling so lightheaded and dizzy too, disgusted at the sight of an apple/walking past one of those gourmet bakery windows imagining myself diving into the display a la Reynaud from Chocolat in a blissful gluttonous foodgasm.

    Can’t wait to read more! Keep ’em coming!

    • As difficult as we both know true weight loss, not a fad diet, is, that’s how great the rewards are. We both know that we achieved something. I realised last night that since I sounded the war gun on my fat in 2010, I’ve lost 25 kg. That’s astounding. I did not take an easy way out, I worked hard, I suffered, and it took time. A lot of time. Yet, I still don’t feel good. Don’t know if I ever will. I’m having a hard time to get rid of the fat girl inside my head…

      But when I become determined to do something, you can be damn sure I’ll follow through. That’s why I’m doing this now. It feels like I’m punishing myself, but I know what I’m working towards, and that’s good enough. For now. But you can bet your sweet ass I will be rewarding myself with cake when I’m done. One piece. Because life is too short to not have cake now and then.

      Thanks for stopping by, doll. Miss your face!

Leave a Reply

