Hello Darkness, my old friend…

Hi friends,

I have some sad news to share. Due to financial losses, and the general downfall in the photographic industry, the company who owns the shop I manage, has decided to close my shop. I am being retrenched. As soon as possible.

I am not really sad about the shop closing, this place was sucking the life and light right out of me. Much like a Dementor. It was feeding on my happiness, my positivity. I am angry however. I am angry that they waited so long to realise that we were going down. I sent through a four page proposal with ideas and suggestions on how to possibly improve the shop’s turnover. I sent that through in JULY of last year. I sent it through TWICE. I was ignored TWICE. Gah! That infuriates me. What’s even more infuriating, what gets my blood boiling, is that the labour law in my country stipulates that when retrenchment takes place, the employee (me) must be given the opportunity to offer suggestions to the employer (them) on how to possibly avoid retrenchment. I did that. Long before the R-word was put on the table. But now, to cover his ass, the big boss “wants to know my ideas”. Can you friggin believe it? The nerve. I looked him straight in the eye and told him: “All due respect, if you were going to take my suggestions seriously, you would have done so when I sent them through last year. It’s too late now. There’s nothing to be done now.” That seemed to wipe the smug, self-satisfied smile right off his face. Mumbling about how he never got them was just the cherry on top of the self-important, egotistical, self-serving douchebag. Clearly, denial is something you learn at prick-school. I was fuming. I have to pay the price for their negligence. That’s not fair. It’s a slap in my face. I tried. They failed me. And now, I have to pick up the pieces.

What’s worse is that I am scared. Shitless. I need to find a job. Quickly. I have a mortgage. I can’t afford to be unemployed. I’ll lose everything. I am so stressed. I’m emotional. Tense and teary. Frazzled and fearful. I don’t know how I’m going to get out of this mess. Is this bad karma? Is it because I am a mean girl? Because that kinda feels like overkill for punishment, don’t you think?

I went on a interview last Friday. I don’t think it went well. I didn’t get good vibes. I did look amazing though. Dress for the job you want, right?

This is a mess.

2 thoughts on “Hello Darkness, my old friend…

  1. everything happens for a reason. The reason i suppose in our era would be named by most of the people Crisis.
    Could you find behind things your own reason for whatever happens in you life? If yes, you will see many amazing opportunities. Get them, or create them all. Everything you always wanted. I wish you the best. I republished your article on my site. You can see it here : http://southweb.co.za/blog/hello-darkness-my-old-friend/

  2. Pingback: Hello Darkness, my old friend… | SouthWeb

Leave a Reply

