Summer Reading List

1908329_10152070930462484_783416606905182726_n

I have a deep and profound love for books. All books. Whether they be old or new, I adore them all. Truth be told though, I love buying old books. They smell of imagination, and seeing the battle scars of a pre-loved book makes me appreciate them even more. Sometimes I buy books just because they look pretty, and when I’m lucky they even contain a great story. This love is generations strong, a love nursed gently by my grandmother, passed on to my mother, and on to us. One of my biggest treats as a child was to visit my grandmother over school vacation. She would take us to the small town library, each armed with three library cards, and free reign over our literary choices. A week later, we would return them, and the hunt would start again.

I have recently stumbled across a list of books to read, that “will change your life”. After reading a brief synopsis of each, I jotted down which ones I want to read. So I have decided to share this list with you, and tell you if you should read them too. Some of them are classics, some are new hits. All of them have my attention.

The list is not long, but it’s a good start to keep my brain reading-fit.

  • The Fault In Our Stars – John Greene
  • The Hundred-Foot Journey – Richard C. Morais
  • Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov
  • Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance – Robert M. Pirsig
  • The Diving Bell & The Butterfly – Jean-Dominique Bauby
  • Invisible Monsters – Chuck Palahniuk
  • White Oleander – Janet Fitch
  • Play It As It Lays: A Novel – Joan Didion
  • Ada, or Ardor – Vladimir Nabokov
  • Push: A Novel – Sapphire
  • The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • 1984 – George Orwell
  • Great Expectations – Charles Dickens
  • The Shining – Stephen King
  • Animal Farm – George Orwell
  • To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
  • Catcher In The Rye – J.D Salinger

I’m excited to share my thoughts with you. I’ll re-read the ones I’ve read before too. The first review will be on The Fault In Our Stars, although I believe that I’m one of the last people on earth who have read it after all the hype. Let’s geek it up!

 

5 thoughts on “Summer Reading List

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The Fault In Our Stars | WaywardChild's Blog

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Invisible Monsters | WaywardChild's Blog

  3. Pingback: Book Review: To Kill A Mockingbird | WaywardChild's Blog

  4. Pingback: Book Review: Lolita | WaywardChild's Blog

  5. Pingback: Book Review: Nineteen Eighty-Four | WaywardChild's Blog

Leave a comment